Turn clutter into hope: Send eyeglasses to those in need with New Eyes

I’ve found a way to recycle yet another challenging item: my old glasses! My prescription changes every few years, and it’s often less expensive (i.e., within my insurance allowance) to get new frames and lenses rather than replacing the lenses. I ended up with several pairs with very out-of-date prescriptions, but now they’ll be put to good use.

logo

Founded in 1932 and endorsed by several medical associations (as well as actor Jake Gyllenhaal), New Eyes is a non-profit organization that collects, tests, and distributes donated glasses to those in need in developing nations. Donations, including shipping, are tax-deductible.

The organization also accepts jewelry, watches, and other items for sale in its Fabulous Finds Resale Shop, with proceeds supporting its U.S. eyeglass voucher program.

Learn more about New Eyes at new-eyes.org.

DONATE GLASSES

Leave a comment